The Spirit of Giving

I got to experience the wonderful spirit of truly giving. I was out with my family eating before the big hustle of last minute shopping that needed to be done. It was one of those days where you just needed a pick me up from all the stress that seems to bombard us every day. I was really was having one of those days. Everything seemed to be going downhill around me and very little seems to be changing. I really needed to see a gesture that there was kindness. All this month, I have seen so many car accidents, disasters where families have lost their homes cause of fires, evictions from their homes, and much more. I have felt the devastation of lost for the many other people around me. So my spirit has not been the strongest that it is normally.Where are the people that have the spirit of Christmas? Well I met some people like that today!

To top it all off it happened to be people that were teenagers, what joy that was!. After my meal with my family at the Texas Roadhouse which sits inside the mall, my children and I, went to the play area in the mall so that my four year old daughter could play for thirty minutes. We began to exit the mall and proceeded to the target store where my car was sitting in the parking lot. I wanted to get some bananas so I got them and went to the check out. Well this is when I was approached by 5 teenagers. They said that they were looking for different people to give gifts to for Christmas, and they wanted to give a gift to my four year old. I agreed that she could have one. They gave her a big fluffy stuff dog. This action of kindness and giving help lift my spirits.

IMAG5620   IMAG5622

“Tis the season to indulge in the spirit of giving, and leave it to a group of forward-thinking individuals and corporations to collaborate on a project that will keep giving long into the future”

I think that we should remember that the spirit of Christmas is the spirit of giving and thinking about others. It’s a time for celebration of life and of those who are sharing our life with us. The 5 teenagers were able to help me remember that and although we will have struggles, it is good to be reminded that there are people in our lives who are worth this aggravation, and people to whom we are worth the same. Instead of being a time of unusual behavior, Christmas is perhaps the only time in the year when people can obey their natural impulses and express their true sentiments without feeling self-conscious and, perhaps, foolish. If only this sense of self could be like this every day of the year.

download (1)

So I challenge everyone to think about ways that you can show generosity of spirit, it doesn’t have to do with your pocket. Here are a couple of suggestions that I have done already.

1. Give compassion today to someone who is hurting… even if you can see they have dug their own hole.

2. Give the gift of time to someone who needs to process her thoughts out loud.

3. Give forgiveness remembering God has forgiven you.

4. Give encouragement to someone who is frustrated or discouraged.

5. Give a place at your table and share a meal.

You are welcomed to leave some suggestions that you have done or will do, to me and others to try in the comment area. Thank you all for sharing and Merry Christmas!

About danaib322

My name is Danai Brown and I’m a university student on a life-long quest to discover all of the good in people as well as learn the behavior of many. I have come to realize that there are many people that say that this world is “hopeless or pointless”. I want to be able to show that there is hope. I personally believe that there are miracles and these miracles will change the behavior that the person will display. Finding the positive is the easiest, but the negative you will have to work harder to find. I have been told that it is the other way around; but I have to disagree. I want to bring to my blog an insight of hope as well as teach the things that I have learned. Sharing is the key to the success in changing a negative thought to a positive one. By following my blog and I can assure you that you will see the world in a different light. I was born in the Dayton, Ohio area but have spent the majority of my life in Atlanta, Ga. I currently attend South University-Savannah campus; I am studying for my Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with an emphasis in clinical and community Communications and Public Relations. I have been blessed with two amazing parents, two sister, two brother, and four talented and astounding kids. I am the happiest when I am sounded by people that I can get to know and care about; as well as those that I can help make a difference in their lives. I have had the opportunity to participate in many acts of service, and I continue to do all that I can do. All I want to do is leave people with hope in knowing that someone cares about them. I have come to understand that life is an eternal quest about knowing oneself. I have decided that it was time to challenge myself, to rediscover my hidden traits, talents, and tendencies. This is where I am at right now, I have been able to grow and learn more about who I am and become comfortable with me. I think the biggest disease the world suffers from in this day and age is the disease of people feeling unloved. This is also another reason why I want to do more for people. I want to give the give of what I have found, how to love my self. We can all learn from each other, I hope to be able to do that with this blog. Feel free to leave a comment or share an inspirational story, I welcome it. You may even have advice for me to improve my blog, please contact me on my Facebook account at: http://facebook.com/danaib1 I would love to hear from you!
This entry was posted in Awareness, Christmas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

